Forgetting

Sometimes when I think about all the things I used to know, I feel a little bit sad. My Mandarin used to be proficient, and I used to have a comprehensive knowledge of Richard Feynman’s life, as a result of reading multiple biographies on him. The knowing of those things in themselves felt good, even though the content itself isn’t exactly relevant or useful in my life right now.

There’s something sad about putting effort in reading and gathering knowledge, only to have it disappear eventually. What I retain is nothing but vague hints and gestures at what should be there, but isn’t. And let’s not even start on the things that I have forgotten that I’ve forgotten (or ‘unknown unknowns’ in Rumsfeldian terms).

Will all this learning be worth it?

Leave a Reply

